For When It Hits Hardest (“Black History”)

I sometimes get asked to write for “Black History”…  Here’s a list that gets you serious, and stop smiling.

 

PEOPLE WITH BIOGRAPHICAL AREAS TO USE:

Thomas Edison

Clive Stapes Lewis

G.K. Chesterton

Abraham Lincoln

J.R.R. Tolkien

Quotes by Walt Disney

Aristotle, Greek philosopher and polymath, a student of Plato and teacher of Alexander the Great.

Alexander Hamilton

Plato

William Shakespeare

 

PEOPLE WITH QUOTES TO USE (with an example):

Gandhi, “You must be the change you wish to see in the world”.

Helen Keller, “Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all”.

Winston Churchill, “I am an optimist.  It does not seem too much use being anything else”.

Ralph Waldo Emerson, “To be yourself in a world that is constantly trying to make you something else is the greatest accomplishment”.

Nelson Mandela, “It always seems impossible until its done”.

Mark Twain, “If you tell the truth you don’t have to remember anything”.

Martin Luther King, “Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that.  Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that”

Jane Austen, “I hate to hear you talk about all women as if they were fine ladies instead of rational creatures.  None of us want to be in calm waters all our lives”.

Margaret Thatcher, “Being powerful is like being a lady.  If you have to tell people you are, you aren’t”.

Albert Einstein, “Only a life lived for others is a life worth while”.

Thomas Jefferson, “I have sworn upon the altar of god eternal hostility against every form of tyranny over the mind of man”.

James Madison, “Philosophy is Common Sense With Big Words”.

Socrates, “I am the wisest man alive, for I know one thing, and that is that I know nothing”.

Mother Teresa, “I’m a little pencil in the hand of a writing God, who is sending a love letter to the world”.

Martin Luther, “God writes the Gospel not in the Bible alone, but also on trees, and in the flowers and clouds and stars”.

St. Augustine, “Faith is to believe what you do not see; the reward of this faith is to see what you believe”.

Confucius, “Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated”.

Benjamin Franklin, “I believe I shall in some shape or other always exist”.

Henry David Thoreau, “I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived”.

Also, see on Twitter: @WiseWomen quotes, “I can do things you cannot, you can do things I cannot’ together we can do great things”. – Mother Teresa.

 

Leave a Reply

